Silver NNAS Training & Assessment

16/02/2019 - 17/02/2019

The Adventure Hub, Bamford

Non-residential starting from £169.00

Scheme Details

Awarding Body
NNAS
Scheme
Silver NNAS
Course
Training & Assessment
Type
Assessment

Award Description

Navigation in the countryside using skills acquired at bronze level and adding skills required to navigate to features and places some distance from paths and tracks, accurate compass work is required and an ability to use appropriate navigational techniques to go across country in some cases, eg. choosing an appropriate attack point.

Event Director

Stephen Barker - 131547

Awards Completed

Tutor Award

About

If you already have some experience of navigating your way around on paths and tracks but are looking to extend your skills and move into more challenging situations then our Silver NNAS Beginner Navigation Course is for you. Over the two days you will gain valuable experience of the skills you need to successfully navigate across open countryside. The course is practical and features as much time out on the hills as possible giving you plenty of opportunity to practise and gain advice and encouragement from our experienced instructors

This course is designed as a progression from our Beginner Navigation award but is suitable for anyone who has spent some time walking in the outdoors and feels confident navigating along paths and tracks. The Intermediate Navigation Course covers the syllabus and is assessed to the Silver NNAS (National Navigation Award Scheme) level. By the end of the course you will feel confident in a range of compass techniques and have a far better understanding of contour features and how to make use of them. 

During the course you will look at:

  • Taking and walking on bearings.
  • Measuring distances with pacing and timing.
  • Navigating using contours.
  • Relocation using a compass and small features.
  • Using a compass effectively: Attack points, Aiming off, Back bearings.
  • Poor visibility strategies.
  • Route planning away from paths and tracks.

 Pre-Requisites:

Some previous experience of navigating in the countryside, mostly on paths and tracks. This experience may have been gained on our Beginners Navigation Course or may have been self taught.

Equipment Required:

Standard hillwalking gear including good waterproofs and walking boots/shoes. A packed lunch and a drink are also necessary. We provide maps and have some compasses available to borrow or buy. Do bring your own compass if you have one.

Available Start Dates:

  • Saturday 15 December 2018
  • Saturday 05 January 2019
  • Saturday 26 January 2019
  • Saturday 02 February 2019
  • Saturday 16 February 2019
  • Thursday 07 March 2019
  • Saturday 23 March 2019
  • Saturday 06 April 2019
  • Saturday 27 April 2019
  • Saturday 11 May 2019
  • Saturday 18 May 2019
  • Thursday 23 May 2019
  • Saturday 08 June 2019
  • Saturday 29 June 2019
  • Thursday 11 July 2019
  • Saturday 20 July 2019
  • Saturday 03 August 2019
  • Saturday 17 August 2019
  • Saturday 07 September 2019
  • Thursday 12 September 2019
  • Saturday 28 September 2019
  • Thursday 10 October 2019
  • Saturday 12 October 2019
  • Saturday 26 October 2019
  • Saturday 09 November 2019
  • Saturday 16 November 2019
  • Saturday 14 December 2019
  • Saturday 21 December 2019

Where And When

Start
16/02/2019 09:30
End
17/02/2019 16:30
Total Days
2
Maximum Bookings
6
Venue
The Adventure Hub, Bamford
Town
Hope Valley
County
Derbyshire
Postcode
S33 0AL
Country
United Kingdom
Latitude
53.34000
Longitude
-1.69000

Provider

Name
Pure Outdoor Ltd.
Phone
01433 695544
Website
Booking/Details
Email

Booking

  • Non-Residential

    £169.00
  • Please log in or create an account to book onto this event.
    Otherwise you can use the provider's contact details above.

Other Dates

07/03/2019 £169.00 Details
06/04/2019 £169.00 Details
27/04/2019 £169.00 Details
11/05/2019 £169.00 Details
18/05/2019 £169.00 Details

Location